Salzburg Museum - Domgrabungsmuseum © Salzburg Museum

Cathedral Museum Salzburg

Treasures of the Archbishops

Cathedral Excavation - for History & Architecture fans

The heart of the Cathedral Excavations Museum are the archaeological finds from a Roman villa, of which various walls, architectural elements, channels, heating systems and original mosaic flooring have been discovered and well preserved.

Aside from relicts from this private home, interested visitors also get to see the foundations and masonry from the west tower of the Romanesque cathedral, which was expanded in the late 12th century under Archbishop Konrad III, though later demolished after a fire (1598).

Also interesting are the medieval foundations and the masonry work for the west tower of the Late Romanesque cathedral, which was built from 1181 on under Archbishops Conrad III (1177–1183) and Adalbert III (1183–1200), and demolished by Archbishop Wolf Dietrich (1587–1612) after a fire in 1598. The present-day cathedral is Early Baroque and was consecrated in 1629.



Residenzplatz (Dombögen)
5020 Salzburg