Felsenreitschule - Summer Riding School © Salzburger Festspiele | Luigi Caputo

Felsenreitschule / Summer Riding School

Salzburg Festival

The idea to transform the Summer Riding School into a theater dates back to Max Reinhardt.  During the 17thcentury at this place conglomerate rock was quarried for building the cathedral, later on, it became a venue for horse riding shows and animal fights.

In 1926 the first performance of the Salzburg Festival took place at the Felsenreitschule, in 1948 Herbert von Karajan changed the Horse Riding School into an opera-stage and staged Gluck’s „Orfeo et Euridice“. In the late 1960s drastic structural alteration works according to the design of Clemens Holzmeister had been implemented: the construction of an orchestra pit, a weatherproof roll-back roof and finally an auditorium with boxes and circles.

During the renovation of the Haus für Mozart, the Felsenreitschule received a new audience grandstand as well as a new roof construction with improved technical means.

Together with Large Festival Hall, Haus für Mozart, cathedral square and Kollegienkirche, the Felsenreitschule forms the festival district.

The venue offers 1.437 seats



Felsenreitschule / Summer Riding School
Hofstallgasse 1, 5020 Salzburg